scuba advice?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rnees

Reaction score
Hey--I figured this group knows just about everything about anything, so I thought 'why not'?

After years of talking about it (after one of those resort quick dive courses in the USVI) I'm finally going to get schooled in scuba. Just booked my xmas vaca at the 'Fiesta Americana dive resort Cozumel'. Doing the padi course at dj's scuba in Lyons IL (probably--went to the shop today to get info, was favorably impressed) starting in September, done in October.

Anybody out there familiar with either outfit? Any thoughts on either?

Any advice you can lend a total newbie? Specifically: how much and what gear should I buy right away, if any, and ballpark $? How many dives can/should I expect to be able to do in a week? At the height of their season, no less. Going to be there over new years.

I'm so new at this, I don't even know the right questions to ask...

Thanks! ...let the fun begin...

Just make sure it's the PADI certification course like "Open Water Diver" and not a "resort" course. PADI and NAUI are the two big certification agencies and quality. Fiesta is a decent place and right in the middle of a popular reef....although a taxi ride to town.

I think the three things that are important to buy are mask, fins, and snorkel. Beyond that I'd get a flashlight next. Not because it's dark, but because color washes out the deeper you go and shining a light on a blue coral head at 60 feet suddenly turns it colors you had no idea. Maybe a wetsuit. And at least try those on a local dive shop. If you order online....Liesurepro.com is hard to beat for price.

You can get raped if you go whole hog before you try it and like it.

And if you don't like it....hey...those things largely come in handy for snorkeling too!