So long new 2006 FJR!

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
Hello I hate to say this but my new 2006 with 150 miles is going back to the dealer :bad: ! The throttle problem is sonething I cannot tolerate. It almost dumped me twice both times in turns!. Now I have been riding motorcycles since 1968,and no bike has been this touchy :angry: !Yes I did the jumper mod ,I did the spring thing and installed larger grips, still the same on-off response! What kills me is a friend of mine has a 2003FJR and there’s nowhere near that control problem! I understand Yamaha changed the throttle pulley and I’m quiet sure that’s the problem, I don’t want to fool around with replacing it with a 05 pulley I don’t have the time.Soooo If the dealer wants to stick it to me too badly you will see it up for sale on the form site :mega_shok: That kills me cuz I spent 2 years lookin for the rite bike and thought this was it! :waaa:

Last edited by a moderator:
150 miles isn't much saddle time to acclimate to a new bike. I keep seeing people writing here about how twitchy the throttle is and I have yet to experience anything remotely like that.

Yes, the throttle spring seems a 'bit more' than I'd like, but it doesn't require a gorilla and is matched by the clutch pull to a large degree.

Yes, my left hand does tend to go to sleep on fast group rides (gotta learn to ease up on the grip).

But I just don't have that problem with mine - and I have left the throttle and everything else stock - 3882 km (2400 mi) on the clock this evening (just did an oil change).