Useful opinions wanted on purchase decision

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Snoofus

Reaction score
Hi,

I have been eyeballing the many advertisements for new 2008/9 FJRs on line. There are even more advertisements for Concours - with ABS - from the same model years. The Concours are often a few hundred dollars less and come with a standard 3 year warranty.

I'm sure many FJR owners also considered the current model of Concours. What made you decide on the FJR?

Well, after my first FJR - took a slide.

I considered a C14, as my first bike was the C10.

However the FJR riding position was a better fit to me.

Some reading left me with the impression that it was difficult to work on (DIY)

It's a great bike. Then too, all the issues were fixed with the 2010 model,

and it wasn't worth the extra coin in comparison to the FJR...so I got an 08' FJR.

There are many threads already started on this, some with experience with ownership of both.

I selected the FJR because my opinion is the quality & reliability seems to be better than Kawi's. I've yet to be less than 100% satisfied with Yam sleds & other Yam bikes I've owned. I've experienced mechanical problems w/Kawi's & Hondas alike.

There are tons of C14 vs FJR reviews out there. The FJR gets the nod for comfort & overall, the reviews generally are tipped in the FJR's favor.

Ride before you buy - that's the best way to find out which you prefer.

From what I've gathered, it also matters greatly which years you are comparing. For example, the FJR's throttle issues were fixed in '08 (so I hear), and many of the C14's shortcomings were fixed in 2010.

When I was looking for an FJR (in 2007) the C14's were new on the market, priced much higher than used FJR's, and I still couldn't get past the fugly fins.