Wake Up Call

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Orient_Express

Fire Base Ripcord Association
Reaction score
My buddy Buzz is a Triumph fanatic. I have three other close friends who, like me, enjoy old English bikes as well (Triumph, Royal Enfield, BSA, Norton). We all served in Viet Nam and have ridden motorcycles for as long as any of us can remember. I guess it’s those two facts bind us together like brothers. A few weeks ago Buzz finished his restoration of a 1951 Triumph Thunderbird. Being a machinist by trade, he’s extremely good at it and the bike is premier!! We all get together on the first of March and fire up the old beasts to go have breakfast together at a restaurant in town – kind of a pre-season ritual that we’ve done for years. This morning we were about 4 blocks from the restaurant when this SUV comes ou’ta no where – Buzz is grabbing levers and stomping pedals but ends up t-boning a Ford Explorer. He’s OK but the front end of his Thunderbird is toast. The wheel is caved back into the engine – one header pipe is crushed by the wheel, forks are bent back and twisted to the left and it’s locked up in second gear. This is the first crash Buzz has ever had in 41 years of riding motorcycles. My buddy Jerry says when we leave the driveway, we enter a battle zone. None of us stands a chance if we go up against anything with 4 wheels. Motorcycle crashes are like walking into an ambush – by the time you gather your senses and assess what just took place, it’s all over and the damage is done.