Best rain pants?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fred W

1 Wheel Drive
FJR Supporter
Reaction score
Rain. We all ride in it (well most of us, anyway) and so we all have to deal with it.

I have several riding jackets that have varying degrees of waterproof-ness on their own, (which can actually be accessed by the duration before you start to get wet underneath...) but I also have a great rain jacket that keeps me absolutely dry (at the expense of not breathing well when it's warm). Mine is an older model of a Technic Osiris rain jacket. It wurks gud.

So up top, in the weather, I'm all good..

But the lower parts have never fared quite so well in the liquid sunshine. I have a pair of Tour Master "Sentinel" rain pants, which from outward examination would appear capable of keeping one nice and dry, but no... No such luck. Around the crotch they leak like a sieve and just an hour or two of steady, hard rain and I feel like I have peed myself, except that it isn't warm and comforting. :huh:

I know it is great folly to raise any kind of serious questions here on a Friday afternoon, and I've already had my first (of hopefully many) social lubricant of the evening myself, but I'm thinking I should try looking for something mo' better to keep my nether regions dry and comfy in the wet and nasty.

I'm tempted to go with the cheap, solid PVC pants and just replace them often when they spring a leak. At least then you'd know you will be dry until they get creased too many times and crack or puncture. Or sweat too much. But I figured maybe somebody knows of the magic bullet here.

I'm willing to listen to all ideas. So please, bring 'em on!!

Fred I really like the rain liners I got with the Motoport. OOps I just realized you prolly want something to go over your gear. nevermind.