Stealer let me test ride!

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

evadlink

Reaction score
I was sitting on one in the showroom-- salesman approaches-I tell him this will be my next bike. Also tell him Ive been riding for 30 yrs on cruisers, but never ridden a "Sport" bike. Too my astonishment he says--" want to test ride it?"

How often does anyone get to test ride one? I get the impression its really rare? Am I right?

Well anyway, after I found my voice, I says "yeah sure."

Had a blast. For me coming off cruisers (Vtx 1800 and 1200 Sporster) it was Scary fast. Had no prob. w/the Shifting the AE, but still think Id perfer clutch. Seating sucked for me-- definitely need risers.

I was sitting on one in the showroom-- salesman approaches-I tell him this will be my next bike. Also tell him Ive been riding for 30 yrs on cruisers, but never ridden a "Sport" bike. Too my astonishment he says--" want to test ride it?" How often does anyone get to test ride one? I get the impression its really rare? Am I right?

Well anyway, after I found my voice, I says "yeah sure."

Had a blast. For me coming off cruisers (Vtx 1800 and 1200 Sporster) it was Scary fast. Had no prob. w/the Shifting the AE, but still think Id perfer clutch. Seating sucked for me-- definitely need risers.
Evadlink:

That was the deal sealer for me. I tested one Monday; told dealer I had a series of steps to take to do the deal and that was the most important. It may have helped that I got my current bike there and am trading it in - and I'm going to guess (and I'm ready to be dogpiled if I'm wrong) that now that dealers floor-plan the bikes rather than the previous Pre-Paid deposit-order nonsense, they may be more eager to let folks test 'em, to let the bike actually sell folks like you and me during a test ride.