I've decided on a GPS system

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PanAmerican

Reaction score
I have been reading up on all the GPS posts here with a keen interest. I want to get one myself. Garmin seems to be the logical choice by popularity and features. So I looked at their four motorcycle offerings. Being an engineer I always try to do an analysis first.

The Garmin Zumo 665: Read a lot of bad Juju on many different sites and on Youtube. It seems to not be fully developed yet. Plus you need to mount the antenna off like some sort of afterthough doo-dad. I am not sure I want to use my telephone or listen to XM when I ride. I wear ear plugs and want my full attention to the idiots I share the road with.

The Garmin Zumo 660: The junior Zumo 665. All the problems with less features.

So that left me to campare the Zumo 550 and Zumo 220. After reading all the product review on the global interweb I though it would be a slam-dunk decision. I was wrong.

Garmin_Choice.jpg

The best choice, for me was the Zumo 220. It cost less. It had enough battery to run a full day. And it had more features.

The deal breaker for me would be no headphone jack. I could never hear voice prompts from the unit itself and taking my eyes off the road in an unfamiliar place where I need GPSdirections equates to bad things happening!